[ RA 2024 ]

NYSUT policymaking convention heads to the Big Apple


he NYSUT Representative Assembly heads back to New York City for the first time since 2017.

This year’s Local and Retiree Council Presidents Conference, held just before the convention, and RA schedules have both been expanded to allow more time to discuss the issues most important to our membership.

“The RA is our largest and most important governance meeting of the year, but it’s also a time to come together to celebrate our successes and have some fun with our extended union family,” said NYSUT President Melinda Person. “This year, we’re excited to provide a program that blends important union business with an array of entertaining activities for delegates.”

NYSUT RA 2024 NYV logo
Delegates and alternates, representing their union colleagues from across the state, will gather in the Big Apple May 3–4 at the union’s annual policymaking convention.

Among their many tasks, RA delegates will elect NEA state directors and delegates to the National Education Association convention. (See nysut.org/elections2024. Member login required.)

RA delegates will consider about 50 resolutions directing the union’s course on education, legislative priorities, healthcare and workplace safety, civil and human rights and retirement issues.

The annual RA also offers the union an opportunity to recognize the winners of the NYSUT constituency awards, including: 2024 New York State Teacher of the Year Zachary Arenz, Rochester Teachers Association; and School- Related Professionals Members of the Year Mashantuck Bell, United Federation of Teachers, and James Chaney, Albany Public Schools United Employees. Retiree Members of the Year are Lorraine Ferrannini, UFT, and Ron Smith, Sayville Retired Teachers. Carolyn Kube, United University Professions–Stony Brook HSC chapter, and Maria Scudiero, Federation of Nurses/UFT, are Health Care Professionals Members of the Year. Higher Education Member of the Year is Anthony Cruz, Orange County Community College Faculty Association. “Not for Ourselves Alone:” The Sandy Feldman Outstanding Leadership Award will be presented to Elizabeth Perez, UFT, and Joan Perrini, Retiree Council 21.

The convention will also recognize winners of the union’s Humanitarian Award, the Ken Kurzweil Social Justice Award and NYSUT Community Service Awards — both individual members and local unions. Visit nysut.org/ra for more information.